Don’t you forget about him…

The first post in a new blog is a lot of pressure. I mean, it sets the tone for the whole endeavor; it’s a harbinger of things to come. The first post can’t merely be good, it has to be GREAT! It has to be the voice of a generation – of blog posts. And nothing says voice of a generation quite like John Hughes. So this inaugural post is in his honor and it’s all very apropos as today is his birthday.

Image

This is the guy that gave us The Breakfast Club and Sixteen Candles and Pretty in Pink and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.  Not to mention National Lampoon’s Vacation, Planes, Trains and Automobiles and Home Alone and many, many, many more. Seriously, his credits are miles long. Check out his IMDB page for the full deets.

John Hughes wrote constantly and quickly. Apparently, he wrote the script for The Breakfast Club in just 2 days! His movies challenged the typical depiction of teens by giving credence to our actual dilemmas. I can identify with every Hughesian version of a teen girl portrayed by Molly Ringwald. I was so paranoid my family would forget my birthday like Sam’s did in Sixteen Candles that I started a birthday count down. In fact, in my senior year of high school, my friends were so annoyed with the daily reminders of the number of days until my 18th birthday, they refused to actually tell me happy birthday once the day finally arrived. It was a Friday and we had a football game against our biggest rival, Gaither, so they said ‘Happy Gaither Game’, it was on the cake too. I had great friends. I don’t miss them much at all. I’m more than a high school reunion from being a teenager but I still give reminders leading up to my birthday. It’s like my yearly homage to John Hughes. Plus, I really wanted Jake Ryan to by my first too. He really is ideal.

John Hughes also managed to brainwash us with his soundtrack selections. In Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Hughes featured Oh Yeah by Yello in such a way that the song is now subconsciously synonymous with anything that is deeply desired. It’s been part of a Twix commercial and it’s Duffman’s theme. And most recently, it was featured in Glee’s Naked episode each time one of the guys appeared without a shirt. Now, if that’s not something that’s deeply desired (with extra, particular emphasis on Darren Criss), I don’t know what is!

The only negative I have to say about John Hughes is the lack of another John in his movies. Of course, I am referring to John Cusack. I love John Cusack and he made many great 80s flicks but I am sure he would have been even more awesome with a lead in a Hughes film or 13. I do keep the dorky Bryce in a special place in my heart though. What can I say? I love nerdy boys too and the combination of young John Cusack and nerd is nearly more than I can handle.

I could easily write several thousand more words on John Hughes and his movies but I’ll keep some of these words for another day. For now, I will leave you with my favorite John Hughes quote:

“You see us as you want to see us – in the simplest terms, in the most convenient definitions. You see us as a brain, an athlete, a basket case, a princess and a criminal. Correct? That’s the way we saw each other at 7:00 this morning. We were brainwashed.”

Happy birthday, Mr. Hughes, you are missed.

*edit: this was supposed to be posted on 02/18/2013 which is actually John Hughes’ birthday but I somehow managed screw it up and it didn’t post until 02/19/2013. Talk about harbinger of things to come…

according to you

